psi logo Personality-Based Diagnostic Taxonomy

The Millon Fifteen Personality Styles/Disorders and Subtypes

Retiring/Schizoid Assertive/Sadistic
Eccentric/Schizotypal Pessimistic/Melancholic
Shy/Avoidant Aggrieved/Masochistic
Cooperative/Dependent Skeptical/Negativistic
Sociable/Histrionic Capricious/Borderline
Confident/Narcissistic Conscientious/Compulsive
Suspicious/Paranoid Exuberant/Hypomanic
Nonconforming/Antisocial Subtype Summary

The preceding lists the most recent and complete of the 15 normal and abnormal personalities derived from the Millon Evolutionary Theory. Each box includes first the normal prototype or personality style (e.g., retiring), and second, the abnormal prototype or personality disorder (e.g., schizoid). The following circulargram portrays the same 15 personalities in a spectrum fashion. It also represents both the normal and abnormal prototypes of the theory. The vertical segment listed under Legend informs the reader of the personalities it encompasses. For an overview of the personality subtypes, or admixtures of these prototypal personality patterns as they are likely to be encountered in clinical practice, (see subtype summary here).

Legend I pertains to the polarity-based theoretical grouping that subsumes the several normal and abnormal personalities listed below it; for example, Legend I segment is entitled "Detached (pain/pleasure)" and refers to personalities that manifest their prime characteristic in deficits or dysfunctions in the pain/pleasure polarity; it includes the normal "retiring" and abnormal "schizoid" types who evidence a moderate or marked deficit in the ability to experience both pain and pleasure. The "shy" and "avoidant" types listed in this polarity grouping are normal and abnormal variants that evince a hypersensitivity to pain and deficits in pleasure. The "eccentric" and "schizotypal" types are even more extreme variants of the detached pattern, evidencing a mixture of both extreme schizoid and avoidant features. One may continue around the circulargram to note the four other major polarity groupings (e.g., dependent, ambivalent) and the normal (Legend II) and abnormal (Legend III) personalities they subsume. Legend IV records whether the adaptation polarity is of a primary passive (p) or active (a) form. Legend V refers to the MCMI-III scales that relate to the personality disorders that are listed above them.

The next set of paragraphs and 15 figures will provide the reader with a breakdown of the 8 personologic/clinical domains of each of the fifteen personality styles and disorders derived from Millon's evolutionary theory. These domains represent Millon's view that personality is composed of numerous major spheres of structure and functioning.; in essence, personality is not simply about behavior, or about cognition or unconscious conflicts, but of all of them. These domains recognize that personality comprises the entire matrix of the patient or person under study because it is our philosophy that personality is a multifunctional and multistructural construct. The figures not only include the distinctive features for the domains of each personality, but also portrays them in terms of the relative clinical importance, e.g., for the retiring/schizoid, the interpersonal (unengaged) and mood (apathetic) domains are the most prominent.





2006,  DICANDRIEN, Inc. All rights reserved.

Hit Counter